The NAWIC Greater Des Moines Chapter #80 is ran by a group of individuals who volunteer their time, talent and expertise to create a support system for women in the local construction industry and to encourage others to consider a career in construction.

The NAWIC committee system assists the chapter in many ways by generating new services, ideas and events that benefit the local construction industry. The committees often communicate and complete tasks via email and by meeting a handful of times throughout the year. Standing committees consist of Programs, Education & Projects, Membership, Public Relations & Marketing, Special Events and Scholarships.


To attract new members and retain the current membership.

Membership Committee Members

Tania Bowman, Dean Snyder Construction (Committee Chair)

Ashley Culver, KONE Elevators (Board Liaison)

Lillian Chamness, Dean Snyder Construction

Ashley Pearston, Terracon


To obtain/develop programs and construction-related projects to educate NAWIC members, to promote professional and personal growth and educate the community about NAWIC through outreach to students.

Programs, Education & Projects Committee Members

Melinda Packebush, Story Construction (Committee Chair)

Kristin Petersen, Weitz (Board Liaison)

Hannah Anderson, Kendell Doors & Hardware (Block Kids Lead)

Tammy Rico, DLR Group (Block Kids Subcommittee)

Lillian Chamness, Dean Snyder Construction

Michelle Ashline, Turner Construction Company

Michelle Capouch, Weitz

Stephanie Heckroth, Architectural Wall Systems

Dawnica King, Cruiser Electric

Veronica Coy, Principal Financial Group


To increase and maintain visibility and public awareness of NAWIC, to enhance our organization’s image and pursue unique marketing activities.

Public Relations & Marketing Committee Members

Stephanie Heckroth, Architectural Wall Systems & Seedorff Masonry (Committee Chair)

Kelli Paskert, Skold Companies (Board Liaison)

Ashley Pearston, Terracon

Tania Bowman, Dean Snyder Construction

Shelby Boyd, Merchants Bonding Company

Audrea Nielsen, Turner Construction Co.


To administer and conduct scholarship interviews on behalf of the association, awarding scholarships to college students enrolled in a construction related major.

Scholarship Committee Members

Caren Henry, Comfort Products Distributing (Committee Chair)

Michelle Ashline, Turner Construction (Board Liaison)

Lillian Chamness, Dean Snyder Construction

Jackie Goode, Trinity Construction Group

Melinda Packebush, Story Construction

Carly Rice, Turner Construction

Tammy Rico, DLR Group

Jill Sailer, Heartland Companies


To organize and plan all aspects of special events hosted by our Chapter. Such events could include: Annual Golf Outing, Holiday Parties, Volunteer Activities, Youth Activities, Networking/Happy Hour Events, etc.

Special Events Committee Members

Diane McDonald, Story Construction Co. (Co-Committee Chair)

Karlee Schwake, Baker Group (Co-Committee Chair)

Samantha Blettner, Heartland Finishes (Board Liaison)

Tania Bowman, Dean Snyder Construction (WIC Week Lead)

Janae Brown, DCI Group, Inc. (Golf Committee Lead)

Ashley Butcher, Dean Snyder Construction

Lilian Chamness, Dean Snyder Construction

Evan Combs, Pella Windows

Ashley Culver, KONE Elevators

Jackie Goode, Trinity Construction

Dawnica King, Cruiser Electric

Kristin Petersen, The Weitz Company

Shelly Putney, Neumann Brothers Inc.